Skincare Favourites #1 – Blemish Busters

15 Oct

Skincare favourites

Ever since I was a teenager I have always suffered with those dreaded hormonal spots around my chin once a month and of course living in London only exacerbates congested skin. This is why my first of my Skincare Favourites series focuses on some of my favourite blemish busters!

edited

In my last job I was lucky enough to work with a couple of fantastic French skincare brands called La Roche-Posay and Vichy; there are some really effective products in their ranges which made it very easy to PR them! La Roche-Posay’s Effaclar range for combination/oily skin has been extraordinarily popular with other beauty bloggers and it is also one of my favourites too (read my previous post about it here). Below are some of my top products from that range as well as a fab mask from REN:

Effaclar Serum – Unfortunately this serum is only available in America but if you are suffering with an outbreak of spots and can get your hands on it then I would definitely recommend doing so. It contains AHA-Glycolic Complec (glycolic acid and salicylic acid should become your best friends if you have oily/spotty skin) as well as LHA (which helps to improve the effectiveness of the ingredients and helps your skin to absorb them). Essentially, it is quite a potent serum that is really designed to exfoliate skin and reduce spots/inflammation. It really works and I use this if I have an especially angry spot or need a quick fix. It doesn’t aggravate my sensitive skin, though I wouldn’t suggest using it every day. 

Effaclar Duo – one of the most hyped products from the range, this has a lovely gel-like formula which is gentle on the skin yet effective at really minimising redness and soreness of spots overnight. I really couldn’t live without this and luckily each tube does last me quite a long time.

Effaclar Purifying Cleansing Gel – this is a lovely, gentle wash which lathers slightly when in contact with water. It eliminates any excess sebum without over-drying the skin. I find this works really well after I have used a micellar water and my Shu Uemura cleansing oil. (I am a big fan of cleansing, in case you couldn’t tell)! 

REN Glycolactic Radiance Renewal Mask – finally, every fortnight or so I will treat my skin to this mask which promises to de-congest, fight blackheads and brighten. It is another firm favourite with the beauty blogging community and I do find it works very well at both brightening and removing impurities – read my review here – though I would always recommend using a non-oily moisturising mask afterwards to restore some moisture. 

Finally, I should also say that diet can play a big role in the appearance of your skin and I saw a dramatic improvement with mine when I cut out refined sugar, carbs and dairy.  However, we all know that it can be really hard to keep this up and since I have fallen off the bandwagon these products have really helped me!

Have you tried any of these products? Which blemish busting products work for you?

Blemish busters

Leave a Reply

