Recipe: Healthy Natural ‘Ferrero Rocher’

2 Jun

I have one month until I am off to Thailand (woo!) which also means I have one month until I bare my bikini body (eek)! In a bid to trim and tone for the trip I am trying my hardest to eat as ‘clean and lean’ as possible, which is something I have been trying to do generally since finding out that my body can’t really process dairy/wheat/gluten (aka anything yummy). My sweet tooth has always been my undoing, which is why I was so happy when I inadvertently created a completely natural and healthy concoction that really reminded me of the inside of a Rerrero Rocher!

*I have popped the recipe below – sorry about the poor quality pics but I only had my mobile to hand*

Ingredients

Mixed fruits/nuts/dates

Agave syrup (or honey)

Almond butter or hazelnut butter (I sometimes also add in a dash of tahini paste to smoothen the mixture a little)

Cocoa powder (I often use the milled flax seed/cocoa powder/berries pouch from Linwoods for extra health benefits)

 

(From left to right) - Hazelnut butter, cocoa powder, tahini paste, milled flaxseeds/cocoa/berries, agave syrup, mixed nuts/seeds/berries/dates

(From left to right) – Hazelnut butter, cocoa powder, tahini paste, milled flaxseeds/cocoa/berries, agave syrup, mixed nuts/seeds/berries/dates

Recipe – Serves 1-2

Add in 2 handfuls of mixed fruits/nuts into a blender, along with a tbsp of cocoa powder. Add in 2-3 tbsp of almond or hazelnut butter and a generous squirt of agave syrup before blending it all up until it resembles a sticky, nutty, sweet paste. Either roll into balls in dessicated coconut or simply grab a spoon and tuck in!

This is a very slapdash recipe that can be tweaked to suit individual tastes, so feel free to add in more/less of certain ingredients. My picture below doesn’t really do it justice but believe me, it tastes so good!

IMG_1838

Finished appearance (tastes much better than it might look!!)

Finished appearance (tastes much better than it might look!!)

One Response to “Recipe: Healthy Natural ‘Ferrero Rocher’”

  1. aregularcupofjo June 2, 2013 at 5:20 pm #

    That sounds delicious and very healthy. Thanks for sharing and enjoy your summer 🙂

Leave a Reply

