Beauty Review: Elemis Pro-Collagen Cleansing Balm

2 Apr

A few weeks ago I was kindly sent a pot of the new Elemis Pro-Collagen Cleansing Balm, an exciting product which has been two years in the making.

IMG_2083

This spa-like cleansing balm promises to both ‘cleanse the skin’ and ‘indulge the senses’, using an active mix of fragrant oils and waxes which work on even sensitive skin to remove make-up/dirt without drying it out. These oils and waxes – including elderberry oil, starflower oil, optimega oil, mimosa and rose flower waxes, amongst others – not only nourish the skin but also create a fragrant, botanical scent that reminded me of the smell you get when walking into a spa. (It is also worth mentioning that the oils come from East Anglia and travel just 9 miles from the field to the press which is great to hear from an environmental and agricultural point of view!)

IMG_2084

The balm has a waxy, thick, petroleum-jelly consistency in the tub but as this comes into contact with the skin it warms and turns into more of a translucent oil, before foaming a little when it meets water. The instructions give you two options; you can either massage on the product with your fingertips, then wet the fingertips and carry on massaging before washing off with the little white cloth also included, or leave on like a mask for ten minutes before wiping off with the warm cloth. I tried both ways and honestly, the quick method worked just as well for me as the mask method!

IMG_2085

IMG_2019

So, how does it work overall for me? I have to say, I really like this cleansing balm. It definitely feels like a luxurious, spa-at-home product and smells lovely, plus a little goes a long way which is good considering the £39.50 (105g) price tag. It does seem to cleanse my skin really well, though every time I have used it I also used my La Roche-Posay micellar water and Vichy eye make up remover as a quick cleanse beforehand, so I am still yet to try it totally alone.

What I especially liked was that it was very soft and nourishing on my skin; sometimes my skin goes a little red when I cleanse it but this didn’t happen at all and instead my skin was left soft and calm. The only slight downsides are that the product took some time to wash off and my flannel needed to be thrown in the washing basket after one use, but really this is a lovely indulgent product that would be fab to use once or twice a week.

Available now from selected John Lewis, Debenhams and/or Harvey Nichols stores for £39.50, as well as Time to Spa

Have you tried it yet? What are your thoughts?

3 Responses to “Beauty Review: Elemis Pro-Collagen Cleansing Balm”

  1. Mena Alice Pie (@Menapie) April 15, 2013 at 9:30 pm #

    This makes me want to try it!

    Just did a post on a new Maybelline Lip Butter which is due to be launched in the UK v. soon!

    http://www.menapie.com/

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. LFW SS14: Day 1 | British Beauty Blagger - September 14, 2013

    […] to use, as well as yummy healthy food/smoothies from Crussh, Popchips (so tasty), a photobooth, Elemis pamper sessions, eye treatments, a makeover booth and a selection of New Look’s latest […]

  2. Skincare Series #2 – Hydration Heroes | British Beauty Blagger - November 18, 2013

    […] Elemis Pro-Collagen Cleansing Balm – This thick balm contains nourishing oils that cleanse whilst protecting skin, making it an ideal cleanser for dry, wind-blown skin. It can also be used as a salon-like mask – read my previous review here.  […]

Leave a Reply

