Weekend Update: H&M Flagship Store Launch, OXO Tower and Duck & Waffle

19 Mar

This weekend was a bit of a hectic one so apologies for the delay but it has taken me until now to muster up the energy to write about it!

IMG_1987

IMG_1985

IMG_1989

 I popped along to the H&M Flagship Store Launch on Oxford Street which promised a four day extravaganza of music, offers and collaborations. I arrived on Day One where there were mannequins styled by fabulous fashion blogger Susie Bubble and banging tunes by a variety of DJs; I managed to catch Radio 1’s Nick Grimshaw, complete with newly dyed pink hair for Comic Relief as he played my song of the moment. The store has five floors and the top floor was my favourite as it had a very glam changing room with big, grey drapes which can only be accessed by heading through ‘The Lounge’ (aka swanky seating area with white statues and velvet seats). 

20130316_194909

20130316_191310

I had some banana/rum cocktail which came wrapped in a banana leaf and which tasted amazing

It was my five year anniversary with my boyfriend (eek!) so we celebrated by heading to the OXO Tower for drinks on Saturday night. I had never been before but would definitely recommend it as it had a very chilled vibe with fantastic views over London. (FYI, the tower has a viewing gallery which I believe can be accessed for free so there is nothing to stop you heading up here for free views!) It was very busy and standing room only in the bar area so try and reserve a table if you plan to go.

Duck waffle

IMG_2016

IMG_2015

Duck & Waffle bar area

Duck & Waffle bar area

views

On Sunday we headed for brunch at the notorious Duck & Waffle, located at the top of Heron Tower opposite Liverpool Street Tube Station. The lift sped up to floor 40 within a matter of seconds (prepare for your stomach to drop a little) where we entered into a slightly urban bar with stylish graffiti on the walls. As we were five minutes early, we waited in the bar area admiring the amazing 360 degree views of London (again), despite the grey, rainy weather, though I have to say that the bar seats weren’t the most comfortable and as they were so rickety I kept falling off mine! Once in the restaurant, I ordered Columbian Eggs (scrambled eggs with tomatoes and pepper) with smoked salmon and avocado on toast, whilst the boy ordered a full English breakfast. The food arrived after about ten minutes and was very tasty – just what we needed on a sleepy Sunday (though I still think my Breakfast Club brunch is the best I have ever had).

 

Hope you all had amazing weekends with plenty of Paddy Day festivities! 

Leave a Reply

