Valentine’s Restaurant Review: Browns

21 Feb

With all the madness of London Fashion Week, my post about my Valentine’s meal at Browns took a back seat. I know this is a week late but the meal was so tasty that I really wanted to blog about it and now I finally have a quiet five minutes!

20130214_213525

Say what you like about Valentine’s Day, I love any excuse to have a spoil and share a bit of love! Last year, our tight budgets meant that we stayed in so this year the boy and I decided to treat ourselves to the three-course Valentine’s Set Menu at Browns, Mayfair. We arrived at 7pm and were led through the bar area to the restaurant at the back, both a medium, comfortable sort of size and with plenty of old-school luxury brass, gold and mahogany décor.

 It was my first time eating at Brown’s but hopefully won’t be the last. We shared the ‘Sharing Platter’ for our starter but this could have easily been our main course; the board came complete with grilled chicken, hummous, peppers stuffed with goats cheese, mushrooms, crispy duck, prawns, calamari, chorizo and a selection of breads. It was all SO tasty and delicious – there was not one thing I did not like, even the calamari which I usually find too greasy/breaded. I would definitely recommend this!

This pic does not do it justice

This pic does not do it justice

For mains, I chose a (medium) steak with chunky chips and roasted tomatoes, whilst the boy opted for a surf and turf with lobster, a thin steak and thin cut chips. My main was cooked really well; the steak was juicy and pink but without any blood whilst the chunky chips were crispy on the outside and fluffy on the inside. My boyfriend equally enjoyed his, so much so that we had to have a little breather and didn’t have room for desert which was gutting! The staff kindly knocked some money off the bill for us and we waddled off home.

My meal

My meal

Just how I like it

Just how I like it

Surf n turf

Surf n turf

There are a few Browns restaurants in varying London locations, (as well as a new one due to open in Liverpool!) so if you ever pass by one then I would definitely recommend popping in. It’s not the cheapest place to eat but could be great for a meal with the parents or a date.

IMG_1815

Leave a Reply

