Holiday Skincare Essentials

2 Oct

So, I’ve finally booked a last minute holiday after not a single break this year! Don’t get me wrong, the year has been fun and I’m loving London but I really feel like I need a week off to relax, read and most importantly, be warm! I’m just popping off to Majorca with the family for a week and here are the holiday skincare essentials that I will be sure to be taking:

Moroccan Oil: Sun, sea and chlorine can play havoc with hair, especially fine hair like mine that has been highlighted and tangles at any opportunity, so it is important to take a good hair product on holiday. Moroccan oil is a bit of a cult product at the moment and it is easy to see why; it tames frizz, softens hair, flattens split ends and makes hair easier to comb through.

 

Batiste Blush Dry Shampoo: As hair can go slightly greasy in the heat or may need a boost at night, Batiste’s dry shampoo range is the perfect solution for mopping up greasy roots and adding both volume and texture. My favourite is the Blush bottle as it has a light floral scent, ideal for holiday.

 

La Roche-Posay Anthelios suncare: I usually hate to wear sunscreen as it clogs up my pores and leaves my skin feeling greasy and horrible yet my fair skin (thanks Irish heritage) means that I burn at the mention of sun! This Anthelios range from La Roche-Posay is brilliant as it is designed for sensitive skin types, so is gentle and not at all greasy. Plus Cate Blanchett and Lily Cole are fans, and what is good enough for them is good enough for me.

 

La Roche-Posay Thermal Spring Water: This water spray is fantastic at instantly cooling you down – I always carry a mini in my handbag for those stuffy tube journeys. It also contains selenium which has great soothing properties, perfect if you have spent a bit too long in the sun and your red skin needs a bit of TLC.

 

 

Fake Bake Beyond Bronze tan: Fake Bake’s Beyond Bronze fake tan range is slightly cheaper than the Fake Bake range but I actually prefer it as it comes out darker and seems to last a similar amount of time on the skin. It is quite a thick product however, so for the face I would take St. Tropez or Xen Tan which give more of a golden natural glow and doesn’t seem to clog pores up as much.

 

Vichy Dermablend Foundation: The great thing about this foundation is that not only does it have thorough coverage but it is also non-comedogenic, which means that it won’t block pores. This is important for me as I still like to have a good complexion on holiday yet don’t want to overload my skin with products in the sweaty heat. I am going to take away Garnier’s BB Cream with me as well as it has proved so popular over the beauty bloggosphere and I am yet to try it out!

 

Vichy Normaderm Total Mat moisturiser: This moisturiser is suited to sensitive skin types and helps to reduce both oil and shine, which is perfect for warmer weather.

 

Caudalie Micellar Solution: And, to take everything all off at the end of the day is Caudalie’s Micellar Solution. It is cleansing, refreshing and soothing for even sensitive skin types and you can read my more thorough review on it here.

Have you got any other holiday skincare essentials that you can recommend?

Leave a Reply

