Review: La Roche-Posay Effaclar Range

15 Jul

La Roche-Posay are a skincare brand approved by dermatologists with products specifically designed for sensitive skin types; there are products catering for acne, rosacea and severe oiliness or dryness for example. All products are enhanced with the brand’s unique thermal spring water which is one of their iconic products and which they claim soothes skin whilst also providing 15 boosting minerals. I wouldn’t describe my skin as particularly sensitive – it is normal/combi with an oilier t-zone/spots on the chin around once a month – but I am always keen to try products with kinder ingredients to cut out nasty parabens and perfumes etc. With this in mind, La Roche-Posay kindly sent me a range of products from their Effaclar range which is targeted towards people with sensitive spot-prone skin and which came at the perfect time during an outbreak on my chin. Now I am a convert!

The products I tried included the Effaclar  Micellar Solution, Purifying Foaming Gel, Effaclar Exfoliant toner and Effaclar Mat face fluid.

My favourite of the bunch has to be the Purifying Foaming Gel as it really does leave the skin feeling clean and fresh without tightening or drying. I found this worked best after using the micellar water to properly cleanse the skin before putting on the toner and moisturiser. The micellar solution was lovely and gentle, taking off make up and grime without irritating my skin, though I did need to use a fair bit of product each time. The moisturiser was not at all greasy and did moisturise the skin without feeling too heavy for oily skin. I was really pleased that its claims to both mattify the face and eliminate shine were justified after I was running around London on busy tubes all day.

I have also been using the Effaclar Duo which is INCREDIBLE! (It is not pictured here as I used it all up!) It is described as a ‘corrective and unclogging anti-imperfection skincare’ product and works amazingly at clearing up any blemishes/spots/lumps and bumps so quickly but is also gentle enough to be used by sensitive skin. It comes out in a light gel formula and can be used by itself or underneath moisturiser; I tend to use it at night and then on any problem areas in the mornings. 

This range really does seem to work as the spots that I had became massively reduced, not as red and not at all sore within simply a day or two. Since using the range I haven’t really had a problem with them ever since – hallelujah! 

Overall, I give this range a solid 4.5/5!

3 Responses to “Review: La Roche-Posay Effaclar Range”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Beauty Review: Elemis Pro-Collagen Cleansing Balm | British Beauty Blagger - April 2, 2013

    […] tag. It does seem to cleanse my skin really well, though every time I have used it I also used my La Roche-Posay micellar water and Vichy eye make up remover as a quick cleanse beforehand, so I am still yet to try it totally […]

  2. Review: Shu Uemura Pore Clarifying Gentle Cleansing Oil | British Beauty Blagger - April 29, 2013

    […] favourite type of cleansers are micellar waters, such as La Roche-Posay‘s and Caudalie‘s, as they are effective at cleansing yet are gentle and kind on skin, […]

  3. Skincare Favourites #1 – Blemish Busters | British Beauty Blagger - October 15, 2013

    […] effective products in their ranges which made it very easy to PR them! La Roche-Posay’s Effaclar range for combination/oily skin has been extraordinarily popular with other beauty bloggers and […]

Leave a Reply

