Paul Mitchell Colour Protect Reconstructive Treatment Review plus a Chance to Win PM Goodies

13 Aug

Paul Mitchell are currently running a competition to win one of their products each day via their facebook page; all you have to do is to ‘like’ the page and then post ‘I love Editor’s Favourites’ each day on their wall. I am a big fan of the Paul Mitchell platinum blonde shampoo (reviewed here) and so was really happy to win their Colour Protect Reconstructive Treatment after entering the facebook competition!

Arrival in the post…

My hair is very fine and is highlighted with platinum blonde highlights every few months so can get very knotty, tangly, and wispy. This product sounded perfect for me, as it promises to ‘repair, condition, and hydrate’ colour-treated hair, as well as to help prevent damage/split-ends, leave hair shiny, and deliver ‘an intense dose of UVA and UVB protection so that colour lasts longer’.
I tried the reconstructive treatment out this morning; the first thing I noticed was the smell, which wasn’t unpleasant but definitely had that chemical aroma that you sometimes pick up at the hairdressers. I followed the directions and left it on my hair for about 4/5 minutes before washing out. At that moment in time my hair felt stronger but not really conditioned. After blow-drying however, I was really pleased as my hair looked less wispy and was both soft and manageable. 
I would say that this is a fine treatment to be used once a week alongside your conditioner as it has already seemed to strengthen and tame my hair. However, I’m not sure that I would actually go out and purchase this as I think that there could be another product a bit more effective.

Leave a Reply

