The LOOK Show SS2011

19 Feb

I’m always happy to see one of my best friends from home but I had especial love for her yesterday as she had invited me as her guest to the LOOK Fashion Show! This fashion show is dedicated entirely to high street collections and is therefore really exciting as it showcases both more affordable and more readily available clothes. It also helped to sweeten the blow for me after I realised I was not able to attend any LFW shows this week-my dissertation has a lot to answer for.

The morning was a bit of a rush as I was still a little bit drunk from the night before and had not decided what to wear, but I finally settled on this outfit:

Topshop floral top (kindly borrowed from a housemate), H&M bodycon skirt, Primark brogues and blazer

The first hour and a half was spent mingling, taking advantage of the free champagne, munching on gorgeous M&S canapes, and trying to spot celebs:

Rosie with her champagne

Hanging out with Shayne Ward, as you do

After we were nicely full and inebriated, we headed into the show. There were collections from Dorothy Perkins, French Connection, H&M, Mango, Marks and Spencers, Monsoon, New Look, River Island, and Warehouse, though the ones that stood out for me in particular were  French Connection, Mango, and River Island.

Amazing floaty dress from French Connection

Bright dress from Mango

Great jumpsuit from River Island

The key trends on the runway were colour blocking, jumpsuits/playsuits, the usual florals and pastels, and floaty blouses.

Colour blocking and clashing colours:

 

 

 

 

Jumpsuits/Playsuits:

 

French Connection

Next

Florals and Pastels:

 

 

Floaty Blouses:

Mango

Marks and Spencers

Next

Leave a Reply

